Monday, March 14, 2016



The New York Times-bestselling author of Little Beach Street Bakery and Christmas at the Cupcake Café returns with a delightful new novel-with recipes!-that is already an international bestseller and is perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Meg Donohue, and Sophie Kinsella.

For fans of Jojo Moyes and Elin Hilderbrand, an irresistible novel—moving and funny, soulful and sweet—about happiness, heartache, and hope. And recipes.

A thriving bakery. A lighthouse to call home. A handsome beekeeper. A pet puffin. These are the things that Polly Waterford can call her own. This is the beautiful life she leads on a tiny island off the southern coast of England.

But clouds are gathering on the horizon. A stranger threatens to ruin Polly’s business. Her beloved boyfriend seems to be leading a secret life. And the arrival of a newcomer—a bereft widow desperately searching for a fresh start—forces Polly to reconsider the choices she’s made, even as she tries to help her new friend through grief.

Unpredictable and unforgettable, this delightful novel will make you laugh, cry, and long for a lighthouse of your own. Recipes included.

Amazon | B & N | Google Play | iTunes | Kobo

Jenny Colgan is the New York Times-bestselling author of numerous novels, including Christmas at the Cupcake Café, Little Beach Street Bakery, and Meet Me at the Cupcake Café, all international bestsellers. Jenny is married with three children and lives in London and Scotland.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | GoodReads 

Jenny offers a recipe for Lemon Posset ...

My dad is a good cook and, in fact, every year he acutions himself off to raise funds for his rowing club. He will come around to your house and make dinner for you and your friends. Mind you, he also has a very generous pouring arm, so I’m not sure how much attention people pay to the food by the time it’s ready!

Anyway, here is my favorite pudding of his:

Serves four

300 g double cream (heavy cream)

1 level tbsp. of caster sugar (superfine sugar) (You’ll need to make it a few times before you can be sure of how sweet you like it. I put a tad too much in last time. [This is my dad talking by the way, in the parentheses. Just assime I agree with him, Every time he makes it I think it’s awesome.])

Juice of one lemon

Berry fruits to taste (Strawberries are super, as are raspberries and blackberries.)

Demerara sugar

Pour the cream into a pan over medium heat. Stir in caster sugar and bring to boil. Simmer gently for 3 minutes, continuing to stir occasionally. Take from the heat and let it sit to cool for about a minute then stir in lemon juice.

I usually prepare a small dish like the one I served you (he means ramekins – Jen) with some small fruit pieces in the bottom.

Put them in the fridge until set. An hour is usually enough and you can prepare a whole day in advance.

To serve, sprinkle from demerara sugar over the top of the now set possets, and brûlée. Serve with fresh berries on top and to the side, and of course “lashings” of ice cream!

Thanks, Dad! 

Polperro Harbour
Creative Commons (link)

A Word from Jenny

Cornwall to me is a place of the imagination as much as a real home to lots of people because I spent so much time there as a child. To me, it is like a version of Narnia or any of the other imaginary lands I liked to visit – I was absolutely obsessed with Over Sea, Under Stone, and of course the Famous Five and Malory Towers. 

We used to stay in old tin-miners’ cottages near Polperro. My mother was a great Daphne du Maurier fan, and she used to put me and my two brothers to sleep in the little narrow beds and tell us bloodcurdling stories of shipwrecks and pirates and gold and wreckers, and we would be utterly thrilled and chilled and one of us, probably my littlest brother – although he would probably say me – would be up half the night with nightmares.

Compared to chilly Scotland, sunny Cornwall was like paradise to me. Every year, we were bought those big foam body surfboards as a special treat, and we would get into the water first thing in the morning and body surf, body surf, body surf until physically hauled out, sunburnt along the crossed strap lines of my swimming costume, to eat a gritty sandwich wrapped in cling film.

Later my dad would barbecue fish over the little home-built Barbie he constructed every year from bricks and a grill, and I would sit in the high sweet grass, read books and get bitten by insects.

And after that (because you get to stay up very late on your holidays), we’d drive down to Mousehole or St. Ives and eat ice cream while strolling along the harbor looking at the art galleries. Or we’d eat hot salty fried potatoes, or fudge, the flavors of which I was constantly obsessed with, even though fudge invariably makes me feel sick.

They were blissful times, and it was such a joy to revisit them when I started writing my Mount Polbearne series. We went on a day trip – as required by law, I think, of anyone visiting Cornwall – to St. Michael’s Mount, and I remember being gripped and fascinated by the old stone road disappearing under the waves. It was the most romantic and magical thing I could possibly imagine, and it has been such a joy setting my books there. If I can convey through my books even a fraction of the happiness Cornwall has brought me in my life…well, I’ll be absolutely delighted.


  1. Always enjoy hearing about new to me authors/

  2. Any book that is food related, especially desserts and that has recipes is for me. Your cream recipe sounds yum.

  3. Thank you for hosting SUMMER AT LITTLE BEACH STREET BAKERY on your blog today!

    Crystal, Tasty Book Tours

  4. Would love to have "Dad" come to my house to cook.
    Karen T.

  5. Thank you for the chance to win this book. Love any book relating to food.